architecten de vylder vinck taillieu online version
Trude Schelling - Karrer (1919-2009)

Trude Schelling - Karrer (1919-2009)


architecten de vylder vinck taillieu is honoured to receive the SCHELLING ARCHITEKTURPREIZE 2016.

Architecture may be understood as a culturally interacting discipline in which socioeconomic, technical and political processes are brought together. Architecture functions in this way as a medium for social integration, encompassing the all too often neglected cultural relevance of the built environment. The contemporary focus of the Schelling Architecture Awards is grounded in this wider understanding of architecture. What is the role played by differing spatial concepts? How can architecture call attention to the socially relevant themes of this century and create new spaces that are relevant to changes in society as a whole? Architecture as a medium for involvement. The prize winners deliver original contributions to a wideranging debate.

In 1992, Trude Schelling-Karrer (1919-2009), architect and widow of the architect Erich Schelling (1904-1986), established the Schelling Architecture Foundation. She was guided by the architectural historian Heinrich Klotz (1935-1999), founder of the German Architecture Museum in Frankfurt and later of the ZKM in Karlsruhe. Since then, the foundation has awarded prizes for architecture and for architectural theory every two years. An international, varying jury adjudicates.

Previous winners are, among others, Peter Zumthor, Kazuyo Sejima, Lacaton & Vasal, Wang Shu and Diébédo Francis Kéré. Previous winners of the prize for architectural theory are, among others, Juhani Pallasmaa and Kenneth Frampton. The SCHELLING ARCHITEKTURPREIZE ARCHITECTURAL THEORY 2016 goes to the British-Canadian journalist and author Doug Saunders.



more online ...
unsubscribe me